Tennessee Scenic Rivers Association

   Protecting clean water and free-flowing rivers in TN since 1966.

Upcoming events

    • Saturday, October 24, 2020
    • 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM (CDT)
    • Percy Priest Lake
    • 4
    Registration is closed

    Registration Opens Wednesday, September 23 

    Introduction to Kayak Fishing is for entry level paddlers and/or entry level anglers. We will have some course work in the morning focused on safety, equipment, and trip planning. We will spend the rest of the day on the water working on proper paddle strokes and fishing. Class will be held on J. Percy Priest Lake, but weather the week before will dictate the exact location.

    Cost: $45 TSRA Members, $55 Non-TSRA Members

    If you have questions about this class, please contact Geoff Luckett at Tnkayakangler@yahoo.com.

    Student Supply List

    Boat, paddle, PFD
    One rod/reel set up and ready to fish (lure of your choice). Instructor will also have plenty to share and try throughout the day.
    Appropriate water shoes or sandals with a strap (no flip flops)
    Appropriate clothing for the weather (suggest synthetics; avoid cotton if possible)
    Lunch, snacks, fresh water
    Note taking material
    Camp chair or seat (unless you want to sit in your kayak or use your kayak seat).

    • Friday, October 30, 2020
    • (CDT)
    • Sunday, November 01, 2020
    • (CDT)
    • Cumberland Plateau
    • 3
    Register

    Spend a couple nights on the banks of the Big South Fork. Full moon on Halloween, what better time for a paddling trip? This will be Three days of flatwater-class II paddling and two nights of camping.

    Water levels will dictate the run, but Leatherwood Ford Bridge in Big South Fork Recreation Area (BSF) to Blue Heron Mine (27 miles). Lots of flatwater to a few class II with two portages. 

    Each participant must provide their own overnight gear, food, cooking utensils, and water. Think ultralight backpacking and dry bags. The trip is entirely self-supported, meaning your boat must hold food, clothes, camping gear, and everything else. Be sure you can keep your things organized, secure, and dry on the river. Average temps for late October/early November are low 40°F to high 65°F.

    Resources

    https://www.nps.gov/biso/planyourvisit/riverrundescriptions.htm

    https://www.americanwhitewater.org/content/River/detail/id/2663/

    http://www.leavenotracedude.com/lnt-waterway.php

    • Saturday, December 12, 2020
    • (CST)
    • REI of Brentwood


Past events

Saturday, October 03, 2020 Harpeth River Clean Up Honoring Jessica Graham
Sunday, September 20, 2020 Rescue for Rec Boaters
Saturday, September 19, 2020 Intro to Kayaking
Sunday, September 13, 2020 Lost Loon Triathlon *CANCELED*
Saturday, September 12, 2020 CRC Dragon Boat Race *CANCELED*
Tuesday, August 11, 2020 CPR/First Aid Certification class #2
Saturday, August 08, 2020 Rescue For Rec Boaters **CANCELED**
Tuesday, August 04, 2020 CPR/First Aid Certification class #1
Friday, July 24, 2020 Swiftwater Rescue
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 Creekside Chat With Bob Lantz
Saturday, July 18, 2020 C & K School follow-up training trip **CANCELED**
Friday, July 10, 2020 Basic River Rescue **CANCELED**
Friday, June 26, 2020 Whitewater Canoe & Kayak School **CANCELED**
Saturday, June 13, 2020 Rescue For Rec Boaters **CANCELED**
Saturday, June 06, 2020 Intro To Kayaking **CANCELED**
Saturday, May 30, 2020 Intro To Rivers **CANCELED**
Saturday, May 16, 2020 Intro To Kayaking **CANCELED**
Saturday, May 09, 2020 Intro To Kayak Fishing **CANCELED**
Wednesday, April 01, 2020 Rendezvous 2020 **CANCELED**
Saturday, March 28, 2020 Wilderness First Aid
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 TSRA Roll School

Tennessee Scenic Rivers Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, #58-1746179.

P.O. Box 159041 Nashville, Tennessee 37215-9041


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software